Skip to content

Primary Care – Drinking the Coolaid

January 8, 2013

There has been alot of talk in the twitter universe and bloggosphere lately about primary care: how to deliver it, who should deliver it, how to get more people to do it, etc.   There’s alot of vitriol about “physician extenders”.   There’s alot of strum und drang about the cost of medical school.  The death of primary care has been announced and renounced. 

I hate to say it, but I’m afraid primary care physicians might have drunk the coolaid. Think about this: what is a medical student qualified to do the minute he graduates with his MD?  Nothing.  Nada.  He/she has to do a residency in something first.  The only thing the MD gets you is a really crappy job with really crappy hours and crappy pay for 3-8 years.  Why?  Because you don’t learn how to be a doctor in medical school.  You learn it in residency. 

Medical school doesn’t really teach you anything.  Much of the curriculum is tradition, an exercise in rote memorization in an age when such knowledge can be found in you pocket. Even the clinical years don’t really instruct much, except how to look enthusiastic 4 hours into a robotic prostatectomy.  All medical school gets you is the degree.

Now think about this: if I graduate from college with a degree in, say, journalism, what does that qualify me to do?  Nothing.  It’s my first job that teaches me how to do the job.  The degree is only the entry point, something I can put on a resume so people won’t throw it in the trash.  An MD is just a very expensive and time-consuming entry point.

With me so far?  So to be able to take care of patients you really need practical experience, an apprenticeship, an internship, a residency, or some kind of structured training.  You need to see and treat a whole bunch of people.  You need to know your anatomy and physiology and disease processes etc. but you probably don’t need to know where the nucleus ceruleus is.  Who knows anatomy and physiology?  Any motivated college student might.  Doctors do.  Nurses do.  So if I can take a nurse, who has a college degree and maybe a masters and knows her anatomy and physiology, and give her a residency, how is her ability to diagnose and treat any less valid than the doctors?  If I take a guy with a college degree, teach him anatomy and physiology in a physicians assistant program, and give him a whole bunch of experience treating patients with brain tumors, why is he less qualified to first- or second-assist on a surgery than the intern?  If I do a residency in anesthesia (my own field) I become the “supervisor” to my certified nurse anesthetist who has been doing anesthesia for 30 years.  Not because I know more or am more skilled.  Because I have a piece of paper that says I spent $100,000 and 4 years of my life in medical school.  That’s it.

I’m going to dare to suggest here that some of the anger about using nurse practitioners to give primary care is that the doctors suspect they’ve been duped.  No one wants to hear that the same work can be safely and effectively done by someone who hasn’t “paid” in time and money the same as they have.  Do you need 4 years of school and 3 years of residency to be a primary care doctor?  I would suggest NO.  Do you need 4 years of school and 3 years of residency to be an anesthesiologist?  I would suggest NO. Do you need a couple of years to learn how the human body works and 3 years to actually treat a whole bunch of people to be a good healthcare provider?  Why not?

From → Healthcare

5 Comments
  1. Hello there I am so excited I found your webpage, I
    really found you by accident, while I was searching on Yahoo for something else, Anyways I am here now and would just like
    to say thanks a lot for a incredible post and a all round exciting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have
    time to look over it all at the moment but I have saved it and
    also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to read
    much more, Please do keep up the excellent b.

  2. Hi there would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m going to
    start my own blog soon but I’m having a hard time deciding between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something completely unique.
    P.S Sorry for being off-topic but I had to ask!

  3. I was extremely pleased to find this great site. I need to to
    thank you for your time for this wonderful read!! I definitely savored every part of it and i also
    have you saved to fav to check out new things
    on your site.

Leave a Reply

The Ideal Violinist

By Bayla Keyes

Eclectic Voices

Fiction, Monologues, Plays & More

Competing Diagnoses

How Americans talk about health care reform

Navigating Healthcare - Patient Safety and Personal Healthcare Management

A Guide to navigating Healthcare for parents, children and spouses who are concerned with managing their health and the health of their family

TurtleAndRobot.com

Children's Book Reviews

FutureDocs

Dr. Vineet Arora's thoughts on medical training, patient care, healthcare policy, with tips for trainees

Wright on Health

Making complex issues in health policy and health services research accessible to all...

Dr John M

cardiac electrophysiologist, cyclist, learner

KevinMD.com

Navigating the healthcare system

THCB

Navigating the healthcare system

Whole Mama

Navigating the healthcare system

medicine for real

Navigating the healthcare system

