Skip to content

Electronically Speaking

December 20, 2012

In the ongoing debate over electronic medical records (Wait, is there a debate?  Maybe it’s more a conversation),  an example today that illustrates why we doctors hate it.

So I have a patient today that has bad arthritis in his right knee and needs to get it replaced.   For reasons that HIPAA will not let me say, he needs a transfusion of a blood product before surgery.  Miraculously, someone had had the foresight to actually make sure this product was available for him.  Great!  That’s a whole other story line we didn’t have to get into.  So he got the product right?  Well, the order for the product has to go into a physician online order entry system.   OK, so I did that.  The nurses say “you didn’t put it in”.  I say “yes I did”.  They say, “well it’s not coming up.”  Turns out you have to do pre-op orders IN preop holding.  You can’t put them in in a computer, say, upstairs.  Even though it’s supposedly the same system. 

Say I’m a surgical resident.  I have a thousand patients to round on in the morning, but I’m also assisting in a case in the operating room on someone I know needs X pre-operative medication.  I can’t just drop an order in any computer that happens to be nearby.  I have to physically go down to pre-op to order it, then go back up and do whatever else I was doing.  THIS MAKES NO SENSE.  I’ts not better for patients, it’s not better for doctors, it’s not better for nurses, it’s not cheaper, it’s not safer.  It’s just a pain in the butt.

Show me an online medical record system that integrates everything on one screen with one sign-in, that imports information automatically from pharmacy and laboratory systems, that functions in all capacities everywhere I work and does not require redundant data entry and I’m there.  No federal subsidy required.  Until such time, just give me my blood product OK?!

From → Healthcare

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

The Ideal Violinist

By Bayla Keyes

Eclectic Voices

Fiction, Monologues, Plays & More

Competing Diagnoses

How Americans talk about health care reform

Navigating Healthcare - Patient Safety and Personal Healthcare Management

A Guide to navigating Healthcare for parents, children and spouses who are concerned with managing their health and the health of their family

TurtleAndRobot.com

Children's Book Reviews

FutureDocs

Dr. Vineet Arora's thoughts on medical training, patient care, healthcare policy, with tips for trainees

Wright on Health

Making complex issues in health policy and health services research accessible to all...

Dr John M

cardiac electrophysiologist, cyclist, learner

KevinMD.com

Navigating the healthcare system

THCB

Navigating the healthcare system

Whole Mama

Navigating the healthcare system

medicine for real

Navigating the healthcare system

